Skip to main content

2023 will mark the fiftieth year of operation of SCORE Internationaland the desert racing sanctioning body intends to celebrate with some slight tweaks to the Desert World Championship program. While the same four races remain in their respective slots, the end of the season 56th Baja 1000 November 16 will literally go in the opposite direction starting in La Paz in Baja California Sur before heading north and ending in Ensenada.

Except where it is a loop, the Baja 1000 generally begins in Ensenada and heads south with La Paz as its destination. Reversing the direction, the crown jewel race begins in La Paz for the first time, while Ensenada is the finish line for the twenty-ninth time. Other cities that hosted the departure of the 1000 include Mexicali (1972, 1993, 1994), Ojos Negros (1999), Santo Tomas (1998), and Tijuana (1967, 1997). Mexicali (1993 and 1994) and Ojos Negros (1999) were also the site of arrival, as was Cabo San Lucas in 2000 and 2007.

Rob MacCachren won the general classification in 2021.

“What an extremely phenomenal precious treasure we all have in SCORE International and to be able to participate in the celebration of SCORE’s golden anniversary in 2023 is extremely humbling and inspiring for all of us at the same time”, said SCORE President and Race Director Jose A. Grijalva.

“The Mexican races are the lifeblood of SCORE and to have all four races south of the border for the eighth consecutive season and eighth time in SCORE’s long history is a distinct honor and a wonderful privilege. We welcome the challenge of continue to add to the illustrious SCORE Baja racing heritage. And to end the season with the iconic SCORE Baja 1000 still attracts racing extremists from around the world and 2023 will be a once in a lifetime experience with the grandfather of all racing in the desert beginning in La Paz for the first time and ending in Ensénada.”

The 2023 season begins with the 36th edition of the San Felipe 250, and its week starts on March 29 while the races are held on April 1. Hosted in the town of the same name, it is the shortest race on the calendar and has hosted the opener since 2013 after winning the Laughlin Desert Challenge berth. San Felipe is one of two rounds that feature qualifying for Trophy Truck, Trophy Truck Legends, Trophy Truck Spec and Class 1 entries, which will take place two days before the race. Luc McMillin is the overall winner.

The results at the finish in San Felipe defined the starting order of the 55th Baja 500 in Ensenada, which begins June 3. MacCachren triumphed in a particularly brutal 2022 Baja 500 two months ago.

SCORE remains in Ensenada for the return match with the 4th Baja 400, with racing starting on September 16. The results of the 400 will determine the starting formation of the 1000. Bryce Menzies wins the 2021 edition.

Teams not running the 250 or 400 but competing in the other two events will receive their starting places by draw.

2023 SCORE World Desert Championship

# Race Location Date
1 San Felipe 250 San Felipe March 29 – April 2
2 Baja 500 Ensenada May 31 – June 4
3 Baja 400 Ensenada June 12–17
4 Baja 1000 La Paz to Ensenada November 13–18