Skip to main content

The Queen and Prince of Wales are the only members of the Royal Family whose birthdays will be marked by the waving of Union flags on British government buildings amid changes following the row over the Duke of Wales. ‘York. Andrew was removed from the list on the government website, as were the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, Duchess of Cornwall, Earl and Countess of Wessex and Princess Royal.

The Sun reported that the wider elimination of family members was done to spare Andrew any embarrassment. The Duke paid millions to settle a civil sexual assault case in the United States in February after he was kicked out of public life because of his friendship with billionaire pedophile Jeffrey Epstein.

Guidelines on designated days when the Union flag must be flown on UK government buildings appear to have changed on February 11 this year. It was just four days before Andrew reached his out-of-court settlement with his accuser Virginia Giuffre, a month after the Queen stripped him of his military patronages and he gave up his HRH style, and a week before his 62nd birthday.

His 60th in 2020 sparked a storm of controversy after councils received notes from the Private Secretary to the Permanent Secretary of the Department of Housing, Communities and Local Government reminding them to fly the flag in his honour. The government later said that would not be necessary.

Other dates removed include the late Duke of Edinburgh’s birthday on June 10 and the Queen and Philip’s wedding anniversary on November 20. Philip, who was married to the Queen for over 70 years, died in April 2021 aged 99.