Skip to main content

Hyderabad: The Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhvana Yatra Commemoration Committee held a program at the historic Charminar on Wednesday to celebrate the Azadi ka Amrit Mahothsav.

G. Niranjan, chairman of the committee, hoisted the national flag at the Rajiv Gandhi SadbhvanaYatra commemoration pole, which will be there until August 15 every day from morning to sunset as per the flag code. The national flag will be a main attraction for tourists, who visit the Charminar from all over the world every day.

Speaking on this occasion, G. Niranjan recalled the sacrifices of freedom fighters and paid tribute to them. The non-violent freedom-fighting movement started by Mahatma Gandhi eventually drove the British out of the country and the people achieved independence. Although the country has made remarkable progress in the 75 years of independence, the people must rededicate themselves to the development and integrity of the country. Efforts must be initiated for the economic inequality between people.

Top Congress Leaders G. Kannaiahlal, G. Anand, Rajender Raju, G. Dinesh, Omprakash Sharma, Ashok Reddy, Moosa Khasim, Rajesh Valmiki, Dilawar, K. Vinay, Promod Reddy, Mamidala Krishna and others participated.